3 replies

  1. I love hearing about special collections, especially ones with an uncommon focus. Those images are priceless! My experiences with special collections also seemed to focus quite a bit on metadata and the importance of professional standards as well as folksonomies.

    Like

  2. Pet peeve: It’s the National Agricultural Library, not the National Agriculture Library. (I worked there for almost 5 years, and at the end of my tenure I helped with preparing some USDA book collections for digitization.) 🙂

    But yes! The collections there are AWESOME, it’s a shame their budget/personnel limitations don’t allow them to do more with them.

    Like

  3. You’re absolutely right! That was my bad, it’s fixed now.

    One of the collections I didn’t get to spend a lot of time with is the seed catalogs. Those date back more than a century, and they’re fascinating!

    Like

Leave a comment