To-Read Tuesday

Here’s what we’re reading this week:

Micah –

Confession – I prefer magazines to books. (I know, another worst-librarian-ever moment.) I love the concise writing and broad nature of content that a magazine offers, and I like to feel like I’m keeping up with cultural happenings. So here’s the real confession – I am a Details magazine addict. Been a subscriber since like 2003 and whenever one comes in the mail, I read it cover to cover that night. I know it’s kind of smutty and not as high brow as GQ or Esquire, but comon… it is because of Details that I became a fan of Michael Chabon, whose books I actually have read. Well one of them. So far.

Article of note in this month’s Details: The New Entrepreneur – about the current “start-up” boom, especially in NYC.

Heidi –

I just got a NOOKcolor and am finishing my first book on there right now. Well, I finished it last night, actually. I checked out Brent Runyon’s Surface Tension: a novel in four summers from the library and (after some frustration) transferred it onto my ereader. LOVED the ereader experience and the book.  It’s a (typical) coming-of-age story except that the writing is really raw (just how I like it). On my desk right now: Bite-Sized Marketing: Realistic solutions for the overworked librarians by Nancy Dowd, Mary Evangeliste & Jonathan Silberman.

Julia –

A packed semester means that I’ve shelved the few books I was reading for leisure, but that doesn’t mean other goodies aren’t getting read! This week for class I’m reading Glut by Alex Wright, which documents our relationship with information (and our attempts to organize and control it) through history. There’s some very interesting stuff in there, and while I scratched my head a bit at some of the examples he chose, I’m looking forward to reading the rest. Also reading Beatrice Ward’s article on typography entitled “The Chrystal Goblet” for my calligraphy class.

Nicole-

Lately I’ve been a complete book club drop-out.  You’d think the librarian in the group would be the first to finish the book but not recently.  I blame the start of the semester and the fact that I just can’t seem to get into either book.  One of my book clubs (yes I’m in two!) is reading Rebecca while the other is reading Cutting For Stone.  Both are supposed to be fantastic.  Yet I find myself just stuck and at the point where I, gasp, may not finish either one.  It is really hard for me to admit that.  But don’t tell my book clubs!  For now it’s back to my two textbooks for my Evaluations class, Practical Research Methods for Librarians and Information Professionals and The Evaluations and Measurement of Library Services.

Lauren –

I just got a Kindle 3, and I’m incredibly happy with it. I’m currently reading A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson; this English major fell in love with science last semester during my Science Reference course, and Bryson’s easy-to-comprehend book is absolutely fascinating. Along the same vein, I’m reading Bad Science by Ben Goldacre, and I think it should be required reading for everyone ever. It is important to be able to analyze the mainstream version of a science story, and to be aware of how often the media bungles science writing. If you’re a future science or medical librarian, these are definitely for you!



2 replies

Leave a comment